Recent content by Head_Unit

1. H

Dayton Audio OPAL1 speaker launches

Specs are cute, and generally meaningless says this engineer. Independent measurements needed to confirm (though with very low sensitivity perhaps possible). The question is, can they put out enough SPL at that frequency from a 5.5" woofer and radiators to even be audible? Serious question...
  2. H

Have Slim Floorstanding Speakers "Had Their Day?"

Monitor Audio Silver 300! Focal 936! And now 948, if that is still considered "slim"?
  3. H

Tekton style like tweeter array good idea?

It's an idea, and not a new one.* As I just posted in another thread, arrays of tweeter and even midranges are nothing new at all. Maybe nobody has done the giant one with a tweeter in between clusters of more tweeters above and below. To your "cost effectiveness" question I would *think* a good...
  4. H

Tekton M-Lore Speaker Review

After a few decades as a designer, I do at least know enough to NOT HAVE HOLES IN THE DAMN CABINET and no instructions about plugging them. Gee, come to think of it, I could have had zero years of design experience and figured that one out :rolleyes: As for "innovation" the three tweeter array...
  5. H

One hell of a 12” woofer!

Yes! I once visited Rockford Fosgate for a sales call, and after a nice lunch we talked to some engineers whose obsession of the day was finding a glue to keep the wire on the former at something insane like 4000W at 900 degrees (F? C? I don't recall). An old boss of mine came from JBL...
  6. H

One hell of a 12” woofer!

yeah, the square root of moving mass is in the denominator of the Fs equation, and moving mass squared in the denominator of sensitivity. So lowering the Fs really hits the sensitivity. You can see the equations at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thiele/Small_parameters#Small_signal_parameters BUT...
  7. H

Good point! Kudos on them for that.
  8. H