Recent content by dkinric

1. dkinric

Review and Measurements of Musical Fidelity M2si Amp

Thanks for playing along, Tony. I'm no expert, but with my limited knowledge, those measurements look fine, with SINAD around 100db and noise below -120db. If these were replicated by Amir, we would think it's a transparent DAC. Wonder if other measurements would show a weakness?
  2. dkinric

Well, What hi-fi would agree. Not that they are the definitive voice, but for them to publish a review and grant a component only 3 stars is rare. If you would indulge the conversation, two questions: 1. Did you come to the conclusion of it's poor sonic merits BEFORE you read other impressions...
  3. dkinric

Fair enough. Keeping in mind that provided "measurements" can be misleading and false, as we have seen time and time again here. Manufacturer's "measurements" of their own equipment are notoriously inaccurate, and not many independent testers have a $20k analyzer like Amir. Curious if you can...
  4. dkinric

Audio_tony, I think you wandered into the wrong room. It's kind of the mission statement of this site that given the proper equipment and testing methods, one can measure the sound of a DAC or amp. I think it much more likely that either your bias is not as easy to overcome as you believe, or...
  5. dkinric

Poll: Do you use a subwoofer? (Explain why/why not)

I use subs that have built in Anthem room correction. After calibration, I tweak the level with an app from the listening position. Seems to work well.
  6. dkinric

There are numerous advantages to going with a sub(s) for a music system vs full range towers. I think of it like separates vs all in one systems, but for speakers. Sure, you can get a decent all in one music box (ie Naim Mu-so), but there are usually compromises, not the least of which is to pay...
  7. dkinric

Poll: What % of your system investment is in your speakers?