• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Why do you think a few members have an 'alcoholic anonymous' vibe towards the audiophile community? It seems a harmless hobby as far as things go?

Victor Martell

Looking cool is all the justification one needs if they have the money. There’s no deception there.

Who uses a Ferrari for a daily driver, even in Dubai?

Rick “it’s the lying” Denney

I think I brought up sport cars as an analogy - I live in L.A. and I see it daily. I am a tech worker and when I go up north to do things I also see it daily. In L.A. is the 405, up north in San Fran it's the 101 - equally stuck in a (Ferrari|McLaren|Lotus|Alpha Romeo) at 10-20 MPH, depending on the time of day, of course. And of course, still legally limited to 65, as per a previous comment.

Hence, as impractical as a $150,000 turntable - the turntable, is of course. acceptable, the sports car is ridiculous, IMHO, of course. If you like your Ferrari doing 10, YO DO YOU! :D ( and you are 100% right, how/what you feel is the only justification you need, if you can afford it)

Last edited:

Galliardist

Major Contributor
I have a boat, am a practicing audiophile with more than 1000 albums, undermined amount of CD's and a few racks of equipment not being used. Oh and a motorcycle. Would seem I have some issues.
Or a very good source of income that allows you to afford all of that (and if you're really lucky, a few minutes a week free to share between them).

TimF

Forum Donor