• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Understanding studio monitors

marcuscbm

Hello, everyone. I'm pretty new to the whole speaker game, so I'm just blindly trying things out to figure out what I want. Recently, after reading a bunch of reviews, I got myself a pair of Edifier MR4 and to my surprise I was pretty disappointed after hearing them. Now, I'm not blaming the speakers, they are probably fine for what they are, just not what I wanted or expected. So what I'd like to know, is what part of them is responsible for the things I don't like. Those things are: the amount of bass, the way they sound when I'm anywhere but at my desk, and just general lack of fun.

I'm comparing them to Samsung HW-T400 soundbar and Sven Stream Mega bookshelf speakers (120w with 6 inch woofer, sorry if that not enough info). Out of the box the speakers sounded worse then the soundbar, but after placing them properly I could enjoy better bass and left/right separation. Overall I'd say they are 10-20% better then the soundbar. Until you move away from the desk, that is. Then they are 80% worse while the sound from soundbar stays pretty much the same. Correct me if I'm wrong, but this is what "near field" is all about, right? So If I don't like it I should avoid it?
Next, the 6 inch bookshelf speakers. Just like the soundbar they don't change the sound based on my positioning, what's better, even if I'm in a different room I still feel that subtle oomph from the lows in the music, while with MR4s it disappears, not that it had a lot of it in the first place. Does it have more to do with size, or will 6 inch near fields still lose all the base when I'm not in front of them?