• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Increase sweet spot of correlated pink noise

sfiruch

Hello everyone! Long time reader, first-time poster here. I have spent a year or so reading research papers, listened to reviews and interviews, spent hours on this forum, spent some money on speakers, absorbers, diffusors and did a lot of experiments. As a result, not only did my friends and partner have to listen to me for hours talking about speakers and room acoustics, I also got an amazing listening room with excellent RT60 and a smooth frequency response. But I'm still learning new things every other week as I continue experimenting.

My most recent discovery is that imaging (sound sources distinctively appear between, or even outside, of speakers) strongly correlates with how correlated/mono pink noise sounds. When I listen from a position where pink noise sounds as if it emanates from a small point, everything sounds fantastic. When I'm listening from another position, I lose the ability to localize instruments. While the music is still stereo, the instruments are somehow elusive, instead of spatially localizable.

Questions: How can I increase the area where correlated pink noise seems clearly localized in the center? Which parameters affect my ability for sound localization? Why does correlated pink noise "widen" when I move a couple inches/centimeters forward or backward?

EERecordist

Welcome to ASR! Reading up is admirable.

An acoustic instrument produces fundamentals and overtones. The Klippel Spinorama produces a graph of frequency response against vertical and horizontal listening angle. ASR, reviewer Erin, and the Spinorama website publish those graphs.