• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

AMP or DAC for new TV

Skrab

Hello everyone,

I just changed my old 2010 TV for a brand new LG C3, and I found out that there are no more analog output on these :facepalm:

I have an old Sony TA-161 amp with Wharfedale speakers ( s500 8ohms), I would really like to continue running at least the Wharfedale.

At first I was going for a super cheap DAC (20€ on amazon) to plug into my Sony, then I thought maybe I should put more money into it (was looking at SMSL DL200).

And now I've stumbled upon this forum, and saw a post talking about the WiiM amp.

As I'm a complete beginner, I'm not sure what to get.

- The WiiM Amp looks like it could replace the Sony TA161 easily, maybe outperform it ? It also have features that I could use (the audio streaming).

- Are there any other brand like WiiM amp that kinda does it all, that you would recommend ? around the same price point (can be higher, just not 2k€ like I saw on youtube, please :eek:)

- I would like to keep my setup fairly simple, I don't really want to get lots of equipment

Thank you

NTK

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Welcome to ASR!
- The WiiM Amp looks like it could replace the Sony TA161 easily, maybe outperform it ? It also have features that I could use (the audio streaming).

- Are there any other brand like WiiM amp that kinda does it all, that you would recommend ? around the same price point (can be higher, just not 2k€ like I saw on youtube, please :eek:)
The Wiim Amp is listed at 369€ in Amazon.de. (Which admittedly is a hefty premium over the US price of USD$299.)

Rednaxela

Major Contributor
A second hand STR-DB940 perhaps?