• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What streaming service do you use?

What streaming service do you use?

• Total voters

Albert Dagger

Forum Donor
I've been using Tidal with a family subscription for the past six years. I generally buy physical or digital copies of the albums I like, but having Tidal is great to be able to sample different masterings of my preferred music before committing to a purchase. It's also great that I can listen to Atmos mixes using the Tidal app on my LG TV. Even if atmos mixes are encoded in a lossy e-ac3 format, it's still a good way to enjoy surround music. Many of these releases will never get a physical release, and some that get released on disc are just too expensive. For me and my partner, Tidal it is, and we love it, at home and on the go.

pseudoid

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Few days ago, our Spectrum ISP had over a 4 hour local outage << This; from a company who prides itself (in ads) that their networks have near 99% up-time reliability.:mad:
In network outage cases like this, those who rely on an ISP streaming (over-and-above a phone connection) would be SOL.:(

I have hardened my networking for such outages, because my NAS and my whole house network (LAN) is a bridged connection to a second server' RJ45 (WAN) on the same PC/server for ISP connectivity. If the ISP goes DOA, I can still 'stream' over the local LAN (w/my NAS library) to continue my music enjoyment.
My other music 'stream' - which is via satellite (SiriusXM) - is a backup to my LAN back-up, in cases where my whole PC (home server) crashes and burns!

I practice what SteelPulse preaches in their song "Life... Life without music, I can't go on!":cool:

OP
CleanSound

CleanSound

Major Contributor