Search results

1. A

B&W Matrix 2 Upgrade Project

There is putty, yes, and it's just a stopgap fix to fill the gap that the rubber ring occupied. The sound >6k unusable until i added the putty- I will need to find some flathead bolts to hold the tweeter if I decide to return the ring thingy. boring details... I have not done the other...
  2. A

Minidsp Flex Review (Audio DSP)

I guess i don't understand what this result means in the real world. this does look quite bad compared to other usb DAC's. From what I can ascertain from the measurement results for the flex: 1kHz tone yields good results when compared with other DACs. Multitone does not rank as well (thanks...
  3. A

A bit of a tangent here, but not exactly. impulsive sounds like music are audible at 10dB+ below the ambient sound level. I'm no expert for audibility in IMD, so i won't comment there. also background sound level in most homes is level dependent - far higher at low frequencies than high, which...
  4. A

what does tin ears mean - like opposite of golden? would you agree the DAC quality compares roughly to mid range consumer DAC's? seems to me this is what you are saying. does anyone have experience or comparison with mid-range pro DSP units like models from harman/BSS, xilica, symetrix, dbx...
  5. A

could the IMD issue have anything to do with the processor upsampling? i have no clue.. has there been any follow up to the IMD issue?
  6. A

phase matters in any crossover. crossovers work best when frequency and phase response are relatively linear around the crossover point. interesting... i can get past the lights and the fiddly dial, but if it does not work well as a "close enough" state of the art USB DAC it is of no interest...
  7. A