Recent content by Unplugged

1. U

Serious Question: How can DAC's have a SOUND SIGNATURE if they measure as transparent? Are that many confused?

I’m saying dac A probably has boosted bass in its frequency response. Again, not sure how this is out of the ordinary. But sure.
  2. U

Serious Question: How can DAC's have a SOUND SIGNATURE if they measure as transparent? Are that many confused?

And if this is the case. Great! Thanks for the info. But again, going from there, to saying someone doesn’t think (when they just don’t KNOW) there’s a big stretch.
  3. U

It’s possible I messed up matching. I don’t deny. Note I was able to switch inputs instantly from a remote and it was instant. not like I had to stand up and switch a wire. It wait 1 second between streams. so imperceptible that I had to keep checking if the input had been changed (when there...
  4. U

I don’t believe engineers haven’t checked that or don’t know. There’s always a tradeoff to be faced. I’m an engineer (not sound engineer but engineer still) and face design choices daily. There’s always a “better” solution that takes more time, money, rare materials, or manpower to implement...
  5. U

Sorry for the mess. I’m just using my phone and replies kept creating new threads. I had not realized OP had been moved.
  6. U

Yeah. That’s sad. I am trying to get a good all around Dac. I was willing to spend $2-5k because I thought I “had to”. but I am going to drop my limit down to $2k. After all, I do want something that looks nice (good materials, good enclosure design, etc) I’d have A LOT HARDER justification...
  7. U

BTW, I’m just theorizing here, I am just trying to be devils advocate here. The freq response differences between two dacs may be nil when looking at a single (or small group of sine waves). But what about if we start looking at time domain as well ? In other words, How does the dac performs...
  8. U