Recent content by TomJ

1. TomJ

Q Acoustics 5020 review by Erin's Audio Corner

What a surprise... FWIW here's the in-room response in our bedroom of the Q M20 (powered 3020i) before and after Dirac Live 3 on MacOS. They're on stands 10 ft apart and 12 ft on center from the listening position. At this volume, peak THD is 45dB below source (off the bottom of these graphs)...
  2. TomJ

Genelec 8030c or KEF LSX-II

I've had Genelecs and KEFs in the past and wondered about the same thing for a new bedroom system, along with the LS50W II as a third option. A friend who's a recording engineer suggested trying the Q Acoustics M20 first. I have no experience with Q but decided to take his advice. I ordered a...
  3. TomJ

Question for amp experts about SPL Audio (Germany)

SPL Audio (https://spl.audio/en/) designs and manufactures pro studio and consumer products in Germany. Their website describes the novel use of 120V (±60V) DC rail voltages in the gain stage of their consumer preamps and amps. They also appear to use a BJT cascode configuration in their amps...
  4. TomJ

New treatment approach regenerates lost hearing in mice

There's hope, at least in mice https://hms.harvard.edu/news/scientists-regenerate-hair-cells-enable-hearing?utm_source=SilverpopMailing&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Daily%20Gazette%2020230420%20(1)
  5. TomJ

FS WiiM Mini new, can ship in US

New WiiM Mini in original packaging with all accessories. $50 for pickup in Menlo Park CA or $60 shipped in continental US.
  6. TomJ

KEF LS60 Wireless Just Announced

Of course... "whose outputs are filtered" meant "with filtered outputs", now edited for clarity. ... on the primary speaker. Digital inputs only on the secondary speaker, RJ45 or wireless (owner's manual p 97). Did I misunderstand what this means? (If so, sorry @Mnyb) Its EQ options, FIR...
  7. TomJ

KEF LS60 Wireless Just Announced