Recent content by Ported

1. P

Bands you just didn't 'get' initially

A couple of swing arounds for me would be Counting Crows .. did not get it at first but would take "August and everything after" to my desert island as it still seems to give something new. Conversely I thought "I am Kloot" were too simplistic but now I think they have a subtle genius over...
  2. P

Describe your decisive experience that completely changed your view of audiophilia with a comment.

Back in the 1980s I owned a small recording studio and I wired my main monitors using 13amp (UK) flexible mains cable (financial reasons). One customer/ producer insisted I use his QED oxygen free copper bla for the session so I wired them both to the power amp and ran the session on his...
  3. P

Causes of "harsh" sound in speakers (and tweeter material)

For me I just flipped to ribbon tweeters.. I am an ex sound engineer and have several tracks i tried to de "S" on some particularly siblant vocals.. On almost all systems this seems only partially sucessfull .. through my current ribbons (Fountek Neo CD3.0 ) it seems completely successful and...
  4. P

RME ADI-2 FS DAC loudness feature

I use the RME loudness ... It is quite tunable and to my ears does a more transparent job than the SMSL equivalent as the threshold can be set. On top of that it's possible to add room eq. Never regretted paying the price but I understand how it may look difficult to justify. If it can easily...
  5. P

Avantone CLA-10 (Yamaha NS-10M Clone) Review

I also feel some real world factors may be lacking in these observations. Time and money being a key one .. recordings are usually set to budget and therefore time constraned. This can lead to compromises on fidelity (no time left to do it better). If in my recording studio ownership days...
  6. P