Recent content by napilopez

1. N

Sactionals StealthTech (speakers in your sofa)

I really think this is a fantastic idea. Even if the performance were mediocre for the price, the convenience and aesthetic factor is huge. I watched a press presentation for this and apparently the sound is tuned for each fabric material and even specific color.
  2. N

How to make quasi-anechoic speaker measurements/spinoramas with REW and VituixCAD

Unfortunately I have no experience measuring big heavy speakers in spinorama form and I'm not in a hurry to start! That said, maybe something like this setup from audioholics if you can measure outdoors? @hardisj also had a similar setup with a rolling scaffolding thingamajig at one point...
  3. N

Airpulse A100 Review (Powered Speaker)

Agreed, though I assumed that might be the reason for the slightly bright response. -------- Panther voting is fun! Gives newcomers another point of reference. Looks good to me other than seemingly leaning a bit bright. I'd imagine the low q dip around 2k and then peak at 4k might make it sound...
  4. N

New Tyler Acoustics Speaker Designed by Danny From GR Research

The last GR research kit speaker tested here did quite well, so I don't doubt this could be a very solid speaker.
  5. N

Grimani Rixos

I'm not but that looks like a spinorama from Sausalito Audio. Curiously last I checked they do their early reflections calculation differently and the bass isn't anechoic, but yes this looks quite good.
  6. N

Sonos Play:1

I think it is worth trying something different at least so you have a reference and learn some more about your tastes, but the Sonos Play:1 appear to be competently designed speakers, whose main limitations are going to SPL limitations due to their size. Some measurements available here. They're...
  7. N

JBL 4309 Review (Speaker)