Jim Shaw

Interested in audio from middle school. In high school, was chief engineer of the morning news audio broadcast. As a HS junior, I worked part time as a gofer for Audio Recording Studio in Cleveland. Our owner/engineer was the recording director for the famous Cleveland Orchestra under George Szell / Robert Shaw. Mostly, I lugged an Ampex recorder, tapes, cables, mixer, etc. for them. (An Ampex 350-2 is very heavy.) In those days, we used Telefunken U-47's and Altec condenser mics a lot for over head of the Orchestra. Those archive tapes still exist today, and they're pretty darn good. I believe the Orchestra archive has mastered them all to digital by now. George Szell conducting Beethoven is worth hearing.

In the studio, early on we were still all mono. Mostly, we did rock 45's and commercials. Again, I was gofer, but spent a lot of time staying out of the way and learning to listen critically. We used an Altec VOT for a monitor. I learned that Vlad, the owner, could tell when a U-47 was 3 degrees off optimal for a vocalist (and send me in to crank it). One of my evening jobs was to cut acetate demos and commercials for local auditioning and broadcast. No real mastering was done there. But I learned the principles and techniques of cutting records.

Finished HS, and went off to [a major engineering university] and graduated BSEE. My first career was in factory automation and controls. When that industry started to get shipped overseas, I changed to commercial aircraft avionics and test equipment. I traveled the world for 25 years and graduated upward to corporate management. I retired, and here I am -- happily speeding up as I drive past the airport.