Recent content by Cableaddict

1. C

Massdrop 789 vs. Monoprice 887 vs. SMSL SP200: THX amp measurement comparison

Thinking that measured specs tell the whole story is literally hilatious.
  2. C

Actually there are quite few reviews & thread posts online that say this. Also my personal listening tests, using five different fairly expensive phones. - And I'm a professional recording engineer, FWIW. "But hey, the specs show it's flat, so it must sound that way!"
  3. C

Measured spec are nice, but never tell the whole picture. You do realize that amps drive headphones differently than they drive test gear, right? I mean, DUH ....
  4. C

Review and Measurements of Little Labs Monotor Headphone Amp

I hear you, Noob, (thx) but unfortunately I need a cue amp that can handle both, all of the time. I agree that "It’s actually a harder issue than it seems." There is clearly no perfect solution. Hoping to hear from Jonathan on this.
  5. C

Review and Measurements of Little Labs Monotor Headphone Amp

Jonathan, I just found this thread, as I'm on the hunt for the best cue amps for both my studio & for my band's live cue system. I've already spent a small fortune, & not yet totally happy. VERY interested in the Monotor, but I have to admit, Amir's review really troubles me, despite your...
  6. C

Yeah, it would be great. There may also be small gains to be made in the PSU, (like raising the voltage) but that would be hard given the space limitations. It might even be worth trying to bypass the internal psu completely. - But the small gains probably wouldn't be worth the trouble &...
  7. C

You seem to have missed my point. What is actually under the hood? As you said yourself: "Monoprice does an "887" - seems to be "dual 888s"
  8. C

My bad. I meant 887. The Chinese SMSL THX amp is designated "888", whatever that means..
  9. C