• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Looking for recommendations for a modest home music production set-up: Audio interface and maybe headphone amp

any name you wish

For context, I'm not exactly new to the world of audio. I worked as a sound engineer for quite a while, but I worked almost exclusively live, and what little studio work I did was with other people's equipment. I've long since changed careers but are now at the stage where I'm interested in producing my own music and getting it up to a decent standard, rather than the "pottering around with stuff that nobody else is ever going to hear therefore it only matters if it sounds good in my personal headphones" that I've been doing. So I've been trying to see what gear I need that I won't have to save up for (because I'm already saving up for other stuff) and which will allow me to have enough fidelity to have enough of a stab at mixing that people listening to it will think that it sounds okay.

To that end, I've decided on some Beyerdynamic 900 Pro Xs as headphones, because pretty much every reviewer says that they're some of the best studio headphones you can buy with a flat enough response and enough frequency response and fidelity that you *can* mix on them (as long as you're aware of the pitfalls of mixing on headphones and put in the work to be able to compensate)., and they're only around £200. What I'm stuck on is what's going to drive them. I'm well aware that a mix can only be as good as the weakest link in the chain, so I want to be able to strike a balance between fidelity and flat response on one hand and cost on the other.