• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help Please ( pwr amp beneficial???) -Topping PA5 Plus (or similar) vs Bi-Amping Pioneer VSX-935 to Polk SE ES50 Speakers

Hi all,

I am fairly new to audio equipment. My hifi experience only extends to owning a portable Fiio M15S DAC, Fostex Headphones and an Escape portable speaker. Have never built a stereo setup.

Anyways I just bought the below receiver and speakers, and am wondering how beneficial it would be to add an external class d power amp vs bi amping my speakers. I know it is a budget setup, but I’d still want to get the most out of what I have.

Would adding a class D power amplifier be at all beneficial in this set up?

I think the receiver puts out about 80 watts per channel or 160 watts total/bi-amped @ 8 ohms. I will only be using it for stereo, as it had all features I wanted for a more reasonable price than getting the same in a 2 channel.

Your help/ advice would be much appreciated! Thanks!

1697229926774.jpeg

Chrispy

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
You can't add a power amp to that avr, it doesn't have the necessary pre-outs. Passive bi-amping doesn't double the power (it just offers the same amount of power and frequency spectrum to both terminals)....and means little, nor is it particularly beneficial, more marketing than anything....

Just hook up your speakers to the avr and enjoy....

OP
Brand-Newbie’n
You can't add a power amp to that avr, it doesn't have the necessary pre-outs. Passive bi-amping doesn't double the power (it just offers the same amount of power and frequency spectrum to both terminals)....and means little, nor is it particularly beneficial, more marketing than anything....

Just hook up your speakers to the avr and enjoy....