• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

BeoLab 90

Sal1950

Grand Contributor
The Chicago Crusher
Forum Donor
Continued from Thomas's gear thread.
I agree but they are still spraying sound into the room in every direction, imagine the sound with only a very narrow beam dispersion, ie all of the sound coming out of the front,imaging is unbelievable , bass is the most articulate and defined you will ever hear.
That's what a great set of horns like the M2 do, or many other speakers designed for narrow dispersion.
I'm no speaker designer but I don't get it. First they build a huge speaker with drivers spraying sound in all directions (ala Bose 901?), and then attempt to use DSP to control reflections or manipulate dispersion in some way?
All the while your condemning other speakers for "spraying sound into the room in every direction" as being wrong headed?
I owned great horns for 32 years, set up in a nearfield listening position they imaged better than any system I've ever experienced.

Purité Audio

Master Contributor
Industry Insider
Barrowmaster
Forum Donor
Traditionally a really good loudspeaker has controlled dispersion, ie a flat on axis response and smooth and even off axis response which mirrors the on axis, the idea being that the off axis and hence reflected sound doesn't 'colour' the sound.
The Beolabs and Kiis use spare drivers to cancel the reflected sound produced by the loudspeakers , producing a perfect polar response, the sound only comes out of the front in a relatively narrow beam.
Sound quality is unbelievably good.
Kei.

Thomas savage

Grand Contributor
The Watchman
Forum Donor