• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

The root of audiophile myths (and how we fell for them)?

DSJR

Major Contributor
I can't find the link right now but I saw a story some time ago in which the author pointed out that a surprising number of "audio designers" are self-taught. Generally there's nothing wrong with that, except that the levels of education in physics, science and especially electronics are at an all time low. They are learning without even the most basic fundamentals, so many of these self-taught geniuses are basing what they know on self-developed conjecture.
Others simply 'appropriate' existing work by various means and 'adapt it' to their needs, wrapping a load of bulls**t around it to make it 'theirs' and even editing Wiki pages to their version of old truths it seems...

D

Deleted member 46664

Others simply 'appropriate' existing work by various means and 'adapt it' to their needs, wrapping a load of bulls**t around it to make it 'theirs' and even editing Wiki pages to their version of old truths it seems...
And those are the engineers who should be driving trains!

Nothing wrong with borrowing a design as a starting point, it's done all the time with "typical applications" from spec sheets. But claiming some big accomplishment from it is just wrong...

Unground

FWIW ... Current is the result of applying a voltage across a resistance.

I = E/R (Current = Volts / Resistance)
Thanks. Ahem, that assumes I know what Voltage or Resistance mean. Or what they actually mean in the real world.