• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Wondering about purchasing a hybrid amplifier

Aubergine

I recently discovered a hybrid amplifier called thda 500t v.2 made by a company called Taga Harmony costing about 315 dollars for that money it has a lot of features but i wonder if it just might be a bit to good to be true... i have never tried tubes before and thought it might be fun to hear what they sound like i already own a good " serious" amplifier the Aune x7s i mean i dont even know if the tube is connected to anything it might not be :rolleyes:

unnamed.jpg

Here is what it says on their website

"Pure Class A, single ended design with no negative feedback for the best sound performance and highest power. "
"Discrete MOSFET output and 12AX7 vacuum tube to provide the best mix of power and an analogue tube-like sound. "
Googling 12AX7 gives you an wikipedia article here is a quick summary

" 12AX7 (also known as ECC83) is a vacuum tube that is a miniature dual triode - 6AV6 with high voltage gain. It was developed around 1946 by RCA engineers in Camden, New Jersey, under developmental number A-4522. It was released for public sale under the 12AX7 identifier on September 15, 1947. The 12AX7 was originally intended as replacement for the 6SL7 family of dual-triode amplifier tubes for audio applications. As a popular choice for guitar tube amplifiers, its ongoing use in such equipment makes it one of the few small-signal vacuum tubes in continuous production since it was introduced. "

"Audiophile-grade Wima coupling and Rubycon power supply capacitors to offer high reliability and great sound. "
This made me roll my eyes a little bit :rolleyes: