• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Windows vs macOS

supernova

Hello everyone. Recently I have made a post asking if I'm deaf or why I experience such bad sound quality. DAC seller recommended to try testing the sound on windows (it's a home-made DAC based on ES9038Q2M chip. Not a cheap one :D).
And on windows everything sounds fine - no meat but it's crystal clear ( I'm new to the audio world so please excuse my lexicon).
On Mac it sounds awful. I can't describe what exactly is wrong. When I first listened to it it made me feel like there is some obstacle between my ear and headphones. I can't say what exactly is wrong. It's just so bad listening on macOS.
I am using Apple Music as main source but for the experiment I have downloaded the same album with same resolution to windows (played via foobar) and macOS(audirvana).
My setup - home made DAC, drop thx one with no balanced outputs, drop hd6xx. MacBook Pro 16.
Can someone help me make it sound good on Mac? EQ, all the sound changing things, dolby etc all off. Tried configuring midi - no effect at all.

Jdunk54nl

Addicted to Fun and Learning
What settings do you have in audio midi for the dac?

Also what mac and what version of OS are you running on it?

Reactions: eas
OP
supernova

supernova

What settings do you have in audio midi for the dac?

Also what mac and what version of OS are you running on it?
Macbook pro 16 11.4

Attachments

• Screenshot 2021-07-10 at 8.06.13 AM.png
    Screenshot 2021-07-10 at 8.06.13 AM.png
    475.1 KB · Views: 136

bluefuzz

Major Contributor
My first thought is do you hear the same differences using a DAC that isn't 'home made'?