• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

WiiM Mini Review (Streamer)

Rate this streamer:

• 1. Poor (headless panther)

Votes: 12 2.6%
  • 2. Not terrible (postman panther)

Votes: 47 10.0%
  • 3. Fine (happy panther)

Votes: 224 47.8%
  • 4. Great (golfing panther)

Votes: 186 39.7%

• Total voters

Plugandplay

Hi, apologies if this has been discussed already but searching for exact information is a little difficult and I’m pretty new to these topics! I’m tempted by this device as an inexpensive way to stream audio services via Toslink to a DAC. If I also want to occasionally use Airplay to stream audio from my iPhone, I noted the limitations as being mainly Airplay itself. Are there therefore no other devices which would perform significantly better streaming from an iPhone via Airplay (then Toslink to DAC) as the limitations are common to all of them?

What would be alternative low(ish) cost alternatives to this approach? Having a separate media server which is hooked up to the DAC? Any ideas?

Witterings

Hi, apologies if this has been discussed already but searching for exact information is a little difficult and I’m pretty new to these topics! I’m tempted by this device as an inexpensive way to stream audio services via Toslink to a DAC. If I also want to occasionally use Airplay to stream audio from my iPhone, I noted the limitations as being mainly Airplay itself. Are there therefore no other devices which would perform significantly better streaming from an iPhone via Airplay (then Toslink to DAC) as the limitations are common to all of them?

What would be alternative low(ish) cost alternatives to this approach? Having a separate media server which is hooked up to the DAC? Any ideas?