• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Why not test more pro audio?

staticV3

Master Contributor
Amir tests what people send in for testing.
Not many professionals are willing to lend him the equipment they need to make a living. Especially since the long backlog means you could be left without that equipment for many months.
Of course the manufacturers themselves could provide the equipment without much trouble, but rarely do so.

OP
S

Samps

I have no experience with audio manufacturers, but I do work with other vendors that are usually willing to cooperate if they can see a future sales potential.

This isn’t some small time YouTube channel reaching out for samples. I think this place is established enough for major manufacturers to trust with their gear. I guess the risk is that the results might not be great. On the flip side, some might turn out to be better than expected.

I do agree that individuals may be hesitant to give up their personal speakers for extended periods.

Matias

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
By pro audio I mean like DJ speakers. I haven’t seen anyone doing these types of tests on real pro gear. Seems like that could attract a whole new audience of professionals that are probably in the same mindset as this forum. Although more focused on SPL, but also not the snake oil types.

OP
S

Samps

The M2 is a studio speaker. I’m asking about speakers a wedding DJ might use, or a band playing in your local bar.

Prana Ferox

Addicted to Fun and Learning
You can use a pro amp to drive hifi home speakers - it's fairly common actually, especially for subwoofers.