• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Which amp to pair with Wharfedale 220's?

kurisupi

Hi all, newbie here.

My powered speakers appear to have stopped working a couple weeks back (no audio, but headphone port worked until they also didn't). They are the Mackie CR3's and apparently many have had issues with the mute pin from the amp chip, and the suggestion was to cut pin5 to remove the mute signal. Well all that did was make the speakers buzz loudly upon switching them on, so now I have a dead pair of speakers lol.

Anyway, now I have a pair of Wharfedale Diamond 220's on order.
I just placed an order for the Aiyima A07 last night after making comparisons between that, the Loxjie A30 and other alternatives like the Volt+D. I guess in the end the biggest contributing factor for me came down to the budget/price. The Aiyima simply was the most cost effective solution compared to any other options, together with the ability to "upgrade" the op amps and/or power supply down the line. The one I was really interested in (the Loxjie) is a whopping $185 right now. Then I saw today's post from Amir about the Topping PA3s with the dual MA12070 design. Aesthetics are nice, opinions look good, but I looked through and did not see any listening impressions on it.