• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Which amp/spker should I use? Used DENON DRA-455 or new AIYIMA A07 & used TANNOY Mercury MX1 vs used Elac Debut Reference DBR62 for my small office

softwaredeveloper

Hello All,

I was hoping someone could help me choose a configuration based on the equipment I could buy and the stuff I have access to already.

So I am pretty new to audio - I have a mix of kit I could receive soon, and I am not sure what to use. The goal of the setup was to upgrade my current speakers (built in ones from an LG C2 42inch TV) for music listening, youtube, and PC gaming. I tend to like whacking up the volume on the TV and just sit here listing to music for hours, but I find the sound very lacking at high volumes (~75-80db). I do have money to spend on this too: roughly £300-500, and some equipment is being bought for me / there is some freebees going.

This setup is for my office, and its rather small (full room is only 3.3m x 2m - and I am basically in a 1.6m x 2m corner part of the room). So I believe I wanted to go for a near-field type setup. I was going to go for the best 2.0 system I could afford / salvage - and if it lacked bass, I would pick up a sub eventually and run it inline between the amp and speakers.

After doing some research I thought I would purchase the following equipment / put it on the Christmas list:
- AMP: Aiyima A07
- Pre AMP: Aiyima T8 6N3
- Power Supply: 48V10A Switching PSU
- Speakers: Elac Debut Reference DBR62

However I had a friend surprise me with a Aiyima A07 amp recently as an early Christmas present, and its a little too late to send back - and I have the 48V10A power supply on its way to power the amp.