• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What's on your Black Friday / Cyber Monday (audio) list and why?

Old Listener

I have one major audio purchase left: new powered speakers for our main system. I've been doing consumer research for several years and I'm ready to buy. However, I'm stuck waiting for reviews and user reports on the JBL 705P which is the leading contender. Here are the alternatives I'm considering:

JBL705P - $ 2000 / pair

Genelec M040 - $ 1800 / pair

Dynaudio LYD 48 - $ 2300 / pair

Focal Shape65 - $ 1800 / pair

KEH LS50w - $ 2200 / pair

The Waveform Mach 17 active speakers I currently use are almost 20 years old. Those 3 way speakers still work and so does the external crossover (made by Bryston). I've gone through three 6 channel amps in in life of the speakers. Lots of wires and complication in this system. Mostly, I want to simplify down to small two active monitors on stands with a dedicated computer and DAC behind one of the speakers.

I'd like to be buying speakers tomorrow but I won't. Instead, I'll be buying camera gear to improve our keepers rate on wildlife photography. We're going to Alaska next summer and probably to Patagonia next winter. I've had that camera gear list ready for months.

Panasonic G85 m43 mirrorless camera - $ 1000

Panasonic 100-300 II lens - $ 650

DonH56

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Forum Donor