• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What to try next?

Eyesluna

I currently use an 3E and Magni Heresy, paired with Fostex T50RP MK3 that've been modded by a friend. I'm pretty new to audio gear generally speaking, and I'd like to try new headphones, I know that there's alot of snake oil so I'd like to aim for what's demonstrably worth the money. Speaking of money, i'm aiming for the sweet spot in terms of price to performance ratio, budget wise I would say under 500 USD. I do also have a pretty fat head so comfort is also a priority for me.

Use case wise, I listen to effectively every genre of music and even some out there stuff (throat singing for example). I do also try to game when I rarely get the chance. With that in mind what seems like the next step in terms of getting a new listening experience? Also what should someone new look at when making purchases in regards to headphones to avoid bullshit?

RickSanchez

Major Contributor
Cartographer
So comfort will vary from person to person; hard to give specific advice there. One resource that might help is RTings, their reviews include some comfort metrics like weight, clamping force, and breathability. Better yet: if you can try on headphones in the store -- or buy from online retailers with good return policies -- do that as much as possible.

Some other good measurement / review resources:
In order to help others on ASR give you suggestions:
  • Is there a specific type of headphone you'd like to try? (open back, closed back, IEMs, planar magnetics, etc.)
  • Are you looking for headphones that are going to sound good out of the box or are you willing to do EQ?

OP
E

Eyesluna