• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What technical paraneters are better in high end expensive amplifier?

Ozgoren100

I own an old JVC RX 5062 amplifier and recently purchased new Cabasse Antigua speakers and quality Subwoofer, it sounds great.
My dillema is - should I replace the JVC with a high end expensive amplifier?
I tested my 300 usd JVC against 6000 usd amplifiers and couldn't notice any difference with the same speakers setup, I compared at reasonable house power levels, I don't need more than that.
As an electronic Engineer I can tell the technical paraneters of the amplifiers and at reasonable power levels it is for my opinion not something that a human can hear and that explains why I didn't hear any difference, and I can tell that the quality of sound is critical for me, that is why I purchased better speakers, accoustic is much more compliated than electrical amplifiers and huge difference between low end and high end speakers. These are the critical parameters of an audio amplifier:
Power, Distortions, frequency response, signal to noise ratio, ability to match and drive the speakers impedance without affecting the other parameters.
Appriciate your view, do I need to replace my old JVC?

Frgirard

Major Contributor
I own an old JVC RX 5062 amplifier and recently purchased new Cabasse Antigua speakers and quality Subwoofer, it sounds great.
I tested my 300 usd JVC against 6000 usd amplifiers and couldn't notice any difference with the same speakers setup, I compared at reasonable house power levels, I don't need more than that.