• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What pair of Headphones?

quorzar

Hello,
I need a pair of headphones for the days, I cant listen to my speakers, because it is too loud. Im new to headphones and hope to get some experienced feedback from some of you. Around 500€ or 430$ I want so spent. I heard of Sennheiser 660s, Fostex 610. Is it possible to get a decent soundstage and imaging for this price or is silent listening of speakers better than every headphone? :)
Anyone with a good advice?
Thank you.

helloworld

Hello,
I need a pair of headphones for the days, I cant listen to my speakers, because it is too loud. Im new to headphones and hope to get some experienced feedback from some of you. Around 500€ or 430$ I want so spent. I heard of Sennheiser 660s, Fostex 610. Is it possible to get a decent soundstage and imaging for this price or is silent listening of speakers better than every headphone? :)
Thank you.
With your budget I may get massdrop hd6xx and a hifiman se560 v3 from ADORAMA(sometimes the price goes down to $299)

Webninja

Forum Donor
I have the Massdrop HD6xx. I'm not a huge headphone person, but they are comfortable, and are not fatiguing. I prefer my Audioquest Nighthawks, but that is subjective.

flipflop

Addicted to Fun and Learning
With EQ: Philips Fidelio X2
Without EQ: Hifiman Sundara
I wouldn't recommend low volume listening. The equal-loudness contour will warp your perception of the music, essentially distorting it.

westyjeff