• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What is this?

First of all hello! I came across this forum reading about 1-bit DSD DACs. I hope my curious mind can get some answers as I'm very new to audio. You'll laugh at my setup but please bare with me (limited money and knowledge)

PC -> JRiver (ASIO 24-bit 96Khz @ Standard / 1024 Samples) -> Fiio X3 v1 DAC (0dB gain output) -> HD 558 OR Hyperx cloud revolver

JRiver comes with Tone test and playing 19Khz with 120 volume step on Fiio x3 v1 (120/120) I'm able to hear the tone , mind you not very loud for max volume. Now stepping back to 18Khz it's much more clear which was great until playing this song "boston - Rock & Roll Band". There's is V shape present that hits under 18Khz and somewhat distracting as hear small short tiny airy high pitch tones every 1-2 seconds which wouldn't be so bad if my mind wasn't curious!

The question i'm asking today is,

What is it?
How would one remove it without audio loss (if any) and how can it be done?

rarb.jpg

andreasmaaan

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
It looks like a strange artefact present in the recording. Seems there is not much musical information up there so maybe the easiest way to remove it would be with a steep low pass filter just below the frequency of the tone (maybe 17.5KHz). Of course you’d lose whatever audio information is present above that frequency, but it doesn’t seem like there’s much.

OP
M