• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What DAC should I buy? (R2R or Delta)

Stonehead1

Hi! It's my first time leaving a message here.
I read the threads for R2R DAC and delta sigma DAC, and it's time to choose the DAC.

I'm sorry for the unsmooth sentence using a translator.

The headphones currently in use are Sony Z7M2 and Dan-Clark Audio Aeon closed.
The DAC/AMP in use is Gustard X16 + jds labs atom amp.
But unfortunately, I sold X16 because it did not feel much change in X16.
Now I'm using Audio interface and Atom Amp instead of DAC.

As for the DAC I'm watching, I'm thinking about Gustard X26 pro, Musician Pegasus, and Denafrips Ares 2.

What kind of DAC should I buy?
I am worried that the X26 pro will not feel the difference from the X16, and I am worried that Ares 2 will also lack performance in terms of resolution because I heard that the R2R method is outdated.

Or is there another alternative? I hope it's under $1,000. Thank you for reading.

JSmith

Master Contributor
OP
Stonehead1

Stonehead1

A proper, normal, modern DS DAC... don't even consider R2R and/or NOS DAC's.

Plenty;

JSmith
Thank you :)
Then, do you think "Gustard X26 Pro" is the best choice?
Or, would it be better to choose 'Excellent' DAC within the SINAD ranking?

JSmith

Master Contributor
Then, do you think "Gustard X26 Pro" is the best choice?
I wouldn't say "best"... as there are plenty that some would say is the better choice for them. I would look at the top 20 and decide based on form, function, features and apparent build quality. Once you're looking in this range, these are all that matter.

Also, welcome to ASR.

JSmith

Trell

Major Contributor