• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What about when ATCs are a deal?

verlin

First of all, this is my initial post and I may not belong here. I have no professional experience and very little consumer experience either, so take whatever I write with several grains of salt.
I agree that ATC speakers--I have passive SCM40 v2s--are overpriced in the US, and it's easy for me to accept that some other brands are superior at a similar price point. I infer from most of the posts here disparaging ATCs that if the speakers were cheaper, expectations would be lower, peer brands would be different--lower tiered--and judgment might be adjusted upward. I may be summarizing this poorly, but that's my takeaway.
So here's my question: I obtained mine used, with some marred cosmetics, for $3300. At that price, how do y'all think they stack up against the consumer competition?
Obviously, this is a matter of taste, room size and configuration, what power is being used, etc, but insofar as one can generalize...
Thanks.
Verlin

HooStat

Addicted to Fun and Learning
If you like them and are happy, you should be fine. Perfect is the enemy of the good. I just listened to some ATCs the other day and I enjoyed them. They were mid-range forward, which I found very pleasing. There is always something "better". If you get tired of the sound, you can always sell them and try something else. Enjoy.

OP
verlin

verlin

There's some good sense. Thanks. I do have a Loki and I adjusted the ATCs to be less mid-range dominant. Just a few tweaks--a budget toy.

McFly

Addicted to Fun and Learning