• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Wattage required for automatic voltage regulator

kevindd992002

I live in the Philippines where it's pretty common to use automatic voltage regulators to protect sensitive equipments (home theater, computer, etc.) from voltage spikes/drops. I'm wondering how much wattage I need for a home theater setup? This is my first time building an HT system. Here are my hardware choices so far:

LG 55C9 TV
Nvidia Shield TV Pro
PS4
Denon X4600H/X3700H
1 pair of Infinity Reference R162 Bookshelf speaker for the LR channels
Infinity Reference RC263 speaker for the Center channel
An RSL Speedwoofer 10S sub for now (but will consider another one in the future)
Surround - not sure which speaker yet but probably Infinity Reference speakers. Should surround speakers match the brand for the LCR too?

I'll start with a 5.1 setup first and will extend it to a 5.1.2 or even a 5.1.4 setup in the future. So I want to have an automatic voltage regulator that is right enough for what I need today and in the future. I don't want to buy one that's "too much" if you know what I mean.

Thanks for your help.

Attachments

• 1602432657560.png
    1602432657560.png
    1.4 KB · Views: 106

RayDunzl

Grand Contributor
Central Scrutinizer
So I want to have an automatic voltage regulator that is right enough for what I need today and in the future. I don't want to buy one that's "too much" if you know what I mean.

What are your choices?

---

You can measure your usage.

Example: Kill-A-Watt EZ

Take that number and maybe multiply x 4 for reserve.

Or, simply match the capacity of the wall outlet - for the future.

OP
K

kevindd992002