• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Wait... science AND audio? At the same time?

nerdstrike

Greetings from the UK.

I'm a scientist and a musician, so in retrospect it's no surprise that I've sunk many hours into reading content on this forum. Ever since I was inspired to take some in-room measurements, I realised it would be rude not to register. What a fantastic resource/seething pit of rationalist vipers.

Hello to you all, please don't ask me to double-blind test my conviction that I am a scientist or some part of my soul will implode!

Gear:

B&W P7 headphones - Very nice, very comfy on my head. Best headphone I could audition within budget.
Audioquest Dragonfly Red - Turns out to be a poor choice for the money, shouldn't have bought it before reading ASR...
B&W 602 s3 - My first, best purchase back in 2004. Having a "proper hifi" really opened my ears to enjoying music outside of playing it.
Rotel RA01, RCD02 - Yes. I was cheap. They've served me well, just wished I had sprung an extra £50 for the remote volume control option...

and latterly:

Arcam SA30 - Best one-box package with Dirac that I could find within budget, and got a discount I couldn't refuse. I was tempted by talk on here of some sweet class D Hypex/Purifi gear, but couldn't find a combo with a receiver/pre-amp+DAC that didn't cost twice as much as the integrated option.

Looking to replace my speakers with some floor-standers soon... I'm compiling a shortlist of graphs for when I'm allowed to audition without catching the plague.

Wes

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Welcome

vipers?

pit vipers can see in the infra-red...

OP
N

nerdstrike

My current shortlist includes: