• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Volumio "audiophile music player" - discussion and problems

Xulonn

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Moved this from the D10 DAC thread into its own topic...

Following the simple and clear instructions at the Volumio website, I re-purposed the Lexar 8Gb SDHC card that I had been using to boot LibreELEC/Kodi for several months on my Intel NUC5CPYH box. Since Volumio is also a "stripped-down" custom distro of Linux like LibreELEC/Kodi, I had high hopes that it would work.

Unfortunately, it boots, but does not finish loading, although Linux Mint - the other OS on this dual boot system, still boots and runs fine from the internal SSD. (I posted a request for help at the Volumio website forum, but it appears to be a very low traffic forum.)

Volumio Boot Error.JPG

Edit to insert clear photo...

Last edited:
OP
Xulonn

Xulonn

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Weird! I got an email at 7:40am about a reply from Krunok regarding partitioning of the SDHC card - but it's not here in the thread! To answer Krunok's question, yes, I "quick" partitioned the 8Gb SDHC card to a single partition and it formatted to FAT32, then ran Win32DiskImager and used the Volumio x86 img file to create a bootable SDHC card, which failed with the above message.

Today I checked the SDHC for errors (none), re-downloaded the IMG zip from Volumio and extracted it, and used Rufus to create the bootable SDHC card - same exact boot failure and error messages.

Volumio re-partitions the SDHC card via the disk-imager utility, and I ended up with this structure:

Volumio SDHC Partitions.JPG

My Intel NUC uses a USB wireless keyboard, and is attached to my network via ethernet.