• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Vinyl sound for free

pierre

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Izotope released a Free plugin to emulate vinyl sound. I am not an expert but it sounds convincing close to a turntable.
vinyl-ui-gif.gif

sergeauckland

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I love it!!! I wonder what the reaction will be on other more vinyl orientated fora.......

S.

Last edited:

watchnerd

Grand Contributor
Izotope released a Free plugin to emulate vinyl sound. I am not an expert but it sounds convincing close to a turntable.
vinyl-ui-gif.gif

Analog emulation DSP plugins have been around for a while....

https://www.uaudio.com/uad-plugins/all-plugins.html

fender_tweed_deluxe_carousel_1_@2x.jpg

oxide_carousel_1_@2x_1.jpg

tonelux_tilt_carousel_1_@2x_1.jpg

We now living a world where:

1. Many LPs are mastered in digital
2. The use of analog simulation effects via DSP is common among certain genres of music, which is often then released in DR-compressed lossy digital, LP, and "HD" digital.
3. You'll find increasing discussions on Gearslutz of people mixing on a DAW, then dubbing the final mix to a RTR deck in order to introduce analog compression effects, then sending that back to digital as the master.

Digital and analog are increasingly mixed together to create effects. Consumer purists of either camp may not be getting the 'pristine' product they imagine.

Last edited:

watchnerd

Grand Contributor
I love it!!! I wonder what the reaction will be on other more vinyl orientated fora.......

S.