• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Very basic streaming setup - How to improve?

Shallow

I am a streaming newbie. Having been forced by Covid to work from home a lot lately, I decided to set up a very basic stereo system in my home office. My source is an iPad (5th gen), streaming Tidal (HiFi tier) using the headphone jack to an analog input in back of an 17-year-old Yamaha AVR receiver. The speakers are a pair of Fyne Audio bookshelf speakers (F300). The sound is OK, but I don't think it is noticeably better than Spotify (Premium tier). I am wondering if there is anything I can do to improve the streaming quality. Would adding a (budget) DAC help (I read that the DAC in an iPad is already quite good)?

Since this is for the office, I am not willing to spend a lot. Having said that, I am spending 8-9 hours a day in it, and so I am willing to consider any reasonable improvement. I am willing to change the receiver if it helps. But I like the tonal quality of the one I now use (leaning towards bright). The speakers are OK, and meet the space constraint.

Thanks.

AdamG

Proving your point makes it “Science”.
Forum Donor