• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Using ATX wire for a balanced cable

adi518

Going through the curve of dealing with cables, I currently contemplate the idea of making my own, since I have some experience with other cable making, especially from my PC builds. I have a quality 18 gauge wire that I use for ATX cables and I kinda wonder whether that would work for a very short XLR cable that will connect my DAC to my amp. Since it will be a 20-30 cm long, can I spare the shielding? so it would be an XLR extension cable 3-pin to 3-pin, but with only two wires in each cable, does that make sense? Thanks.

Speedskater

Major Contributor
For the best XLR interconnects chose a Shielded Twisted Pair (STP) cable with a braided shield. But on the other hand XLR interconnect's are a robust system and almost anything will work for a short cable.
got any spare Cat5 or Cat6 cable?

OP
adi518

adi518

I think I'll give it a try, which means I only need some XLR connectors now. Does the pinout makes sense?

sergeauckland

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Cat 5 cable, whether UTP or STP makes great balanced audio cable. I've used it extensively at our radio station for tielines between studios and studios to racks. 4 balanced pairs in one thin and very cheap cable. I used STP for preference, as it's the same price as UTP and it's screened, but except for microphone feeds, UTP (unscreened) is fine at line level. UTP also makes good loudspeaker cable as the 8 wires can be parallelled into two, and it's quite low enough resistance for sensible 'speaker runs.

S

raindance

Major Contributor
You can use unscreened cable as stated for short runs if the circuit is true balanced. I would twist the wires if I was you.

Speedskater