• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Trying to go PC/USB to multiple destinations.....very confused... help, please?

weez

I'm a complete noob at this, so maybe even the questions I'm asking don't make sense, and I might not even be using the proper terms. I have read so many articles and looked at the descriptions of so many devices, I now feel hopelessly confused, and thought maybe some of the folks reading these forums might be able to give me some pointers. The forum heading said not to be shy, so here goes.....

TL;DR Any advice how to get discrete multi-channel output from Windows 10 PC simultaneously to both receiver and wireless headphones (headphones would only have spdif input).

I am using my Windows 10 PC as both a gaming platform and media server (music + movies + OTA TV). There are a number of different audio formats encoded on the media server (mono, stereo, Dolby Digital, DTS, etc.), and some of the games support various implementations of surround-sound audio. This is what my goal is:
  • Audio simultaneously going to a Sony STR-DH590 receiver (connected to 5.1 speakers) and the base station of Steel Series Arctis Pro Wireless headphones.
  • Control which device(s) I'm listening to at any given time at the device (power on/off for headphones, mute/unmute for receiver): one or the other alone, or both at the same time.
  • Set a single output for the Windows 10 audio output device and not have to change it.