• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Troubleshoot advice, noise Lyngdorf and icepower.

marcus_ec

Hi Marcus from Sweden and my first thread. I have just connected a icepower 2000as2 to my Lyngdorf DPA-1. But think the noise level is to high. My old 2170 was dead silent. When I shutdown the preamp the speakers are silent. Any suggestions?

Just to clarify everything is new for me. I have never used the preamp before and the poweramp just recieved today. Its a DIY with Ghent case.

EDIT, just installed my computer dac Matrix Mini I and use this as a preamp. Less noise but not totaly silent. Can you do anything with the amp and lower the noise floor?

Last edited:

staticV3

Master Contributor
Hi Marcus! Welcome to ASR.

That the Amp is silent when nothing is plugged into the input means it's not the Amp's own noise that you're hearing, but the noise of whatever is plugged into the input, being amplified along with the signal.

Does the icepower Amp have a volume control built in, or is it a pure power amp?

MASKINEN

Hi Marcus from Sweden and my first thread. I have just connected a icepower 2000as2 to my Lyngdorf DPA-1. But think the noise level is to high. My old 2170 was dead silent. When I shutdown the preamp the speakers are silent. Any suggestions?

Just to clarify everything is new for me. I have never used the preamp before and the power just recieved today. Its a DIY with Ghent case.

EDIT, just installed my computer dac Matrix Mini I and use this as a preamp. Less noise but not totaly silent. Can you do anything with the amp and lower the noise floor?
Noise level in form of hiss in the tweeters?
The IcePower module does have almost 30dB of gain which’s is pretty high but not unusual.

Last edited: