• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Triangle Borea BR03

Desmo

I'am looking for a nice pair of budget bookshelf speakers.

I currently have a pair of Totem Mite speakers. They are great, but I feel I could do better
with a modern speaker and a little bit more low end extension.

Soundstageaccess.com measured the Triangle Borea BR03 speakers.

https://www.soundstagenetwork.com/i...&catid=77:loudspeaker-measurements&Itemid=153

Sadly I'am a complete noob in reading these measurements without some explanation, so could
someone please fill me in if these measurments are any good and trustworthy?

Thanks in advance!

pozz

Слава Україні
Forum Donor
Editor
I would skip them. They have both sharp and broad discontinuities in the on-axis frequency response, the latter being more audible, and the off-axis shows similar problems.
  • On-axis: Sound directly in front of the speaker. This is the main line in the graph.
  • Off-axis: Sound off to the side by steps in degrees. These are the sloping lines.
Ideal is for the response to the completely flat on-axis, and sloping downwards smoothly off-axis.

D

Deleted member 14468

Contrary to above statement, I woudn't skip these speakers at all. I'm currently listening to the BR03s -- the EXACT ones measured, as I actually did the measurements -- and they're excellent for the price. I'll just say that the above comments are gross oversimplifications for what to look for in measurements.

Doug Schneider
SoundStage!

pozz

Слава Україні
Forum Donor
Editor