• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Total noob - How much SINAD do you actually need?

N

nhatlam96

I need help choosing DAC/Amp, but I am confused with these SINAD charts.

Let's say I would like to enjoy this file here:
FLAC (1059 kb/s, 44.1 kHz, 16 bits, 2 channels).
-> the file is in 16 bit resolution, so SINAD 96-108 dB would be appropriate?
This is the chart:
SINAD
  1. █ >120dB (>20 bits): Provably inaudible noise and distortion.
  2. █ 109dB—119dB (18 bits—20 bits): Well beyond 16-bit (CD) resolution.
  3. █ 96dB—108dB (16 bits—18 bits): Meets and exceeds 16-bit (CD) resolution. <----- 16 bit resolution for my flac file.
  4. █ 85dB—95dB (14.3 bits—16 bits): Does not meet 16-bit (CD) resolution.
  5. █ <85dB (<14.3 bits): Performance is below the minimum lenient threshold defined in this thread.

For example:
DAC: FX-Audio DAC-X7 (98 dB)
Amp: Cavalli Liquid Carbon X (96 dB)

They both "meet and exceed 16-bit", would that be enough?
What if I pick something under/above the 96-108 db range?
Will it sound audibly worse/better?

Last edited by a moderator:

Veri

Master Contributor
At least 96dB. Anything more will give you a safe buffer, something like 120dB will be transparent with any and all source files.

A DAC that resolves up to 16-bit will be adequate in a lot of situations, but you will simply lose out on detail and dynamic range in all edge cases.

It also matters if the SINAD is distortion or noise dominated. A DAC full of noise will be a problem for sensitive earphones/speakers. A DAC full of distortion will likely not sound good and has potential to sound 'bright'/piercing...

OP
N

nhatlam96