• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Torn between Audiophile and Reality of Measurements

Xenon240

Hi, newbie here to ASR, but a long time Audiophile (?) going back to the 80’s. My background is electronics so I have an idea of engineering/design/component cost of equipment. I’ve read here different definitions of what an Audiophile is. I would say I love listening to any type of music on a system that can replicate as close as possible to the concert hall environment.

What is important to me is the longevity of equipment and specs, with listening as the final step. Hence I landed onto ASR site.

My question is, there are manufacturers that build bullet proof amplifier equipment (albeit at exorbitant prices), but why do we not see any Measurement tests of this equipment?

staticV3

Master Contributor
You mean on ASR? Because neither the MFRs, nor ASR's readers are willing to send that equipment in for Amir to test.
Or do you mean why are no measurements available for this kind of equipment in general?

AdamG

Debunking the “Infomercial” hawkers & fabricators
Forum Donor
Hi, newbie here to ASR, but a long time Audiophile (?) going back to the 80’s. My background is electronics so I have an idea of engineering/design/component cost of equipment. I’ve read here different definitions of what an Audiophile is. I would say I love listening to any type of music on a system that can replicate as close as possible to the concert hall environment.

What is important to me is the longevity of equipment and specs, with listening as the final step. Hence I landed onto ASR site.