• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping E30 USB input

Jimbob54

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
I don't have a CCA. This is also why I need to do some calculations:
-average price for used CCA is ~50 EUR
-toslink to coaxial adapter ~12-15 EUR
-Coaxial cable ~7-10 EUR

So, at least 75 EUR to get this working. I should've bought a DAC with double optical input or a DAC-streamer...
I was thinking of the raspberry pi, but from what I read it's a bit complicated to setup. Is there a total noob guide which I could follow?

Are you in the UK- message me if so, I might be able to find used of all parts mentioned in my inventory

EDIT- just seen you are going with the Pi- probably the more versatile option tbh- not easiest but most versatile

Sukie

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Thank you everyone for your suggestions and advice!

Finally, I have decided to go for the Raspberry Pi solution.

Two more questions, if I may:
Will the Raspberry Pi Zero W be enough for running moode or volumio?
Will this cable be good to connect the rpi to the Topping USB interface?
View attachment 81196

Again, thank you everyone
I'm afraid that I can't reliably comment on the RPi Zero W as I use an RPi 4. The RPi 4 has USB A ports and so I connect it to my DAC with the cable that came with the DAC. It also has an ethernet port which is useful (although not vital) when setting up Volumio or Moode.

For RPi Zero you might want to check out
https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...-pi-as-a-music-server.9130/page-3#post-259174

@georgewalk might be able to comment further.

sinthemau

Hello,
I just ordered a E30 and I would like to listen to FLACs loaded onto a Hard Disk.
Anyone knows if is it possible to do so?