• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping E30 or DX3pro as DAC for 789?

luckywales

I'm looking for a DAC to plug into my THX AAA 789. I'm new to this and have had the THX for a week. Lots has been discussed on this but I managed to grab a DX3pro, after reading the great review on this site, from Drop. It was about $180. That's not going to ship until June 26th which gives me time to exercise buyers remorse.

Since I'm just starting out, I'm not going to look at balanced options so I'm down to these two - the DX3pro or the E30. I already own a BTR5 so don't need the bluetooth. I already own the 789, so don't need the amp portion of the DX3pro.

E30 looking like July delivery and I'll need an external power brick so I figure that would be about $140 total. Is the DX3pro worth $40 more for it's DAC? While its "lower" than the E30 on amir's chart, I'm guessing there's more to it than just that...

Any help/guidance would be much appreciated.

Veri

Master Contributor
The DX3 is good as an all in one I would say there are better DAC options than it if you're pairing with the THX.

OP
L

luckywales

Thanks for your responses. What would you recommend that are better in the $130 range? I really looked at the reviews on this site and thought I found the sweet spot with the E30 (given that I don't care about balanced at the moment).

Magnifico

if you don´t need balanced there is a huge gap until you get more than what a E30 can offer.
It´s AK4493 done the right way for 130€ and clearly superior if you don´t need amp section over the DX3pro

Next cheapest DAC would be a SMSL M300 if you don´t mind the form factor that´s a really good unit.
AK4497 (velvet sound) Around 220-250€