• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping DX3 PRO LDAC Version 2 - output impedance question

jadenphan

Hi all,

I am a newbie in this, and I am currently looking for an amp/dac combo around $150-250 to power my DT990 Pro (250ohm). After researching and going through many options, I came across Topping DX3 PRO LDAC Version 2 that really attracts me. I also seriously considered the Fiio K5 Pro, but unfortunately it is out of stock everywhere. I am however, concerned about the high output impedance of this new version from Wolf's test. Do you think it's worth it to get this?

If you have any other suggestions (even separate amp / dac) please feel free to fire away!

Thank you so much!

Last edited:

Hoary

Conventional wisdom is to have at least 8 to 1 ratio between you headphone impedance and output impedance of the amp. AFAIK, the output impedance of the Topping DX3 PRO LDAC Version 2 is about 10 Ohm. So, with 250 Ohm headphones you should be fine.

OP
J

jadenphan

Conventional wisdom is to have at least 8 to 1 ratio between you headphone impedance and output impedance of the amp. AFAIK, the output impedance of the Topping DX3 PRO LDAC Version 2 is about 10 Ohm. So, with 250 Ohm headphones you should be fine.
Thank you for the response. I am just worried that in the future, if I would like to use this amp/dac with another headphone with low Ohm, lower than 80 ohm, then that would be a problem!

Last edited:

solderdude

Grand Contributor
Thank you for the response. I am just worried that in the future, if I would like to use this amp/dac with another headphone with low Ohm, lower than 80 ohm, that would be a problem!