• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping DX1 mini desktop DAC & AMP

OlolOshnik

Good evening!
Yesterday I became the happy(?) owner of Topping DX1. Before this, I had been using the Audinst HUD-DX1 for many years, but I wanted something new and inexpensive on a chip from AK. Headphones Sennheiser HD660s (150 ohm).
The first impression of the headphone output: it sounds cleaner, without grain, somehow smooth, or something, there are more low frequencies and lower mids, but the stage is very narrowed! If Audinst had a relatively wide corridor, then Topping had an average room...

Last edited:

ppataki

Major Contributor
This tiny thing has a direct DSD mode, then?
The RCA output is fixed (no volume control) so I guess AKM's DSD Direct mode is engaged there, isn't it?

I am thinking about having this little DAC too but would be nice to know the above for sure

datobe

Is DX1 still best option for this price as desktop DAC/AMP? I can get used one for 50 usd from China.

Bleib

Major Contributor
Is DX1 still best option for this price as desktop DAC/AMP? I can get used one for 50 usd from China.
Sounds like a great bargain. I have no personal experience with this but I'd buy it.

datobe

Sounds like a great bargain. I have no personal experience with this but I'd buy it.
I've read here that some people complain about narrow soundstage, having 400se with also narrow soundstage I would prefer something with better soundstage I guess. As I often watch movies with this headphone. Guys You know some better alternatives in this price range 100 ish dollars?

Last edited:

Berwhale

Major Contributor
Forum Donor