• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping A30 Pro paired with Dx3 Pro+ as DAC

Nusara

Hi everyone, I'm new to high end equipment so please forgive me
I was wondering if the Dx3 Pro+ will be a good pairing with the A30 Pro as a dedicated DAC as I am aware Dx3 Pro+ only has SE connections at 2.1V while balanced DACs have 4V so I'm not sure whether this will affect the power output of the A30 Pro.
I never needed more power than the Dx3 Pro+ provided but I recently snagged a pristine condition He1000V2 and I reckon the Dx3 Pro+ will not the able to bring out the most in the cans, thus I am upgrading the amplifier. Any help and suggestions will be greatly appreciated,
Cheers

staticV3

Master Contributor
The DX3Pro+ will work just fine as DAC for the A30Pro.

If your headphone is <20Ω, then you won't lose any loudness vs a 4Vrms XLR DAC as under those loads the Amp runs out of current before you hit a gain limit.

If your headphone is high impedance (HD650 etc), then with the DX3Pro+'s RCA Line out you can only drive the A30Pro to 80% of the available loudness.

Should you run out of volume (highly unlikely as the A30Pro is extremely powerful), then you can always switch from the DX3Pro+'s RCA Line out to its Headphones out into the A30Pro and that way you'll get 100% loudness no matter the headphone.

Dunring

Major Contributor
Forum Donor