• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Tiny Cube Speakers

Solar Paul

Hi There

I posted a thread several weeks ago and got some good advice. My thinking has progressed and I have now developed a plan to build 5 tiny cube active speakers and a sub woofer to make up a 5.1 surround system with my Theta Casablanca III surround processor. I am looking for sound quality rather than volume but our AV space is fairly large and I’m a DIY newbie so I’m looking for advice. I can think of a few areas where informed experience could advise, but of course I don’t know what I don’t know so I am open to thoughts in other areas. Tiny speakers are a priority so I’m not really looking for advice on which 2 or 3 driver speakers in bigger boxes might give better quality or bigger sound. What I am interested in are:

• Will the proposed speakers deliver adequate volume for the type of listening/watching we do (details of Intended Use below) in our fairly large space (details on Room below)? I calculate SPL at our listening positions as 92 dB at 100 W and 95 dB at 200 W (max). Current fronts are Vandersteen VLR Wood speakers (8 Ohms with an SPL of 86 dB (2.83V, 1 m). I calculate a max SPL of 96 dB at our listening position for the VLRs and I’ve never had them anywhere near full volume, probably no more than half as loud as they can go
  • Are there any problems with a cube design, for example with standing waves or other resonances, that I need to be concerned about?
  • I’m sure there are stability advantages to building enclosures out of MDF but I really want to use solid natural wood and I can design to allow for timber movement. Any other issues?