• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Time Alignment in Speakers

FrantzM

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Hi

I would like some clear explanation on what it takes for a speaker to be time-aligned. I always thought the crossover was where it had to start. With first order crossovers being the only ones effectively allowing time alignment. Is it possible through moving (or the different drivers? Could that (Time-alignment) be maintained though the passband by such mechanical means?

DonH56

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Forum Donor
<Please bear in mind that I am not a speaker designer, have not built my own in years, and those grad acoustics classes were decades ago.>