• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

The REAL Problem of March Audio's Sointuva WG (Review, Measurements and Reinforcements with Klippel device)

Nuyes

Forum Donor
Reviewer
I am not good at English. Therefore, this post was written with the translation help of many people in Korea. I am very grateful to them.

I am an audiophile publishing speaker reviews to audio communities. Currently, I am using Klippel Distortion Analyzer 2, Earthworks M30 mic, and a DIYed turntable to measure directivity(quasi-anechoic measurement) and nonlinear distortion for my reviews.

I’ve recently reviewed March Audio Sointuva WG and I’d like to report some problems I found and share some thoughts here, although I am not a native speaker of English.

01.jpg

In a nutshell,

1. The Sointuva WG I received turned out to have rather high levels of THD at 85dB SPL. Also, the distortion rate was lower at 95dB SPL than it was at 85dB SPL, unlike any other typical speakers in which nonlinear distortion increases proportionally as output dB increases.

2. Unusually, in Erin's Sointuva WG review, the 86dB SPL THD data seems to be missing.
There is something I would like to correct about this.

That's my apology to Erin, located at the bottom of the post above.

3. It has questionable build quality regarding sealing, internal wiring, non-uniform component qualities, unassembled parts, etc.

Let’s look at the details.
Below is the very first measurement data.

(I would not attach multi-tone and compression test results in order not to make it too lengthy. If you want to see them, please refer to my original review. https://gall.dcinside.com/mgallery/board/view/?id=speakers&no=243813 )